WEST LAFAYETTE – After two days and 36 holes of golf at Purdue University, the battle for the Boys State Junior Championship is heating up at Ackerman-Allen and Kampen Course. The event which started on July 8 saw a total of 114 golfers compete for the title including 20 boys from Hamilton County.

The 64 boys that made the cut will now face off in a bracket style tournament which will then eventually be down to the final two golfers to determine the champion.

Nicholas Hoffman earned the number one overall seed after shooting a five under par through the first two rounds. 17 of the 20 boys from Hamilton County advanced to the field of 64 including three from Noblesville and Westfield respectively, four from Fishers and seven from Carmel.

Three boys from Noblesville made it into the field of 64. Nels Surtani will be seeded 20th as he shot a two day score of four under par. He will be matched up against Caleb Bopp from Fishers who is seeded 45th. Jacob Deakyne will be playing against Kasey Lilly from Plainfield. Deakyne and Lilly both shot a seven over par. Lilly is seeded 31st while Deakyne is 34th. Connor McNeely is the last person from Noblesville in the field. He is seeded 61st and will be going up against Sam Booth from Carmel who is seeded fourth.

Drew Pickering leads the pack for Westfield. He is seeded tenth after shooting a one over par. He will be going up against Logan Vernon from Bloomington who is 55th. Benjamin Burgan after shooting a four over par will be seeded 19th and go up against Andrew Karr from Valparaiso who is 46th. Rounding out the field for the Rocks is Alec Cesare who is seeded 49th. He will be going up against Grant Norman from Fort Wayne who is 16th.

Along with Bopp three other Tigers made the field of 64. Teammates will now be turned opponents as both Luke Mattingly and Bryce Robertson will face off against each other. Mattingly is seeded 23rd while Robertson 42nd. Daivic Akala will be facing off against Keenan Donze from Granger. Akala is seeded 22nd after shooting four over par while Donze is 43rd.

Six others will be joining Booth. The first will be Clay Stirsman who earned the number two overall seed after shooting five under par. He will be competing against Kevin Tillery from Brownsburg. Luke Prall is the third Greyhound to be seeded in the top ten (six seed). He will be facing Kyle Sanders from Kokomo who is seeded 59th.  Jack Crawford is seeded 25th and will be facing off against Damon Dickey from Franklin (40th). Individual state champion Nick Dentino earned a 27 seed and will be going up against Danny Kimes from Leo. Shoji Fujita shot an 11 over par to earn the 53rd seed and will be facing the 12 seed Luke DeHaven from Bargersville, while Ryan Ford rounds out the pack as the 58 seed and will be competing against the seven seeded Noah Wolfe from Kempton.

The tournament will conclude on July 12 with the final two competitors facing off for the title.