Photo Provided:
Herbert can be seen on the left scoring one of his 3 touchdowns during Oregon's 28-27 win over Wisconsin. 
On the right Herbert accepts the William V. Campbell trophy.
Photo Provided: Herbert can be seen on the left scoring one of his 3 touchdowns during Oregon's 28-27 win over Wisconsin. On the right Herbert accepts the William V. Campbell trophy.
The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Football Hall of Fame salutes Justin Herbert, the 2019 Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda
recipient, on quarterbacking the Oregon Ducks (12-2) to a thrilling 28-27 victory over Wisconsin (10-4) yesterday in the Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual. Named the game's Offensive MVP, Herbert finished with 138 passing yards and three rushing touchdowns.
"Justin Herbert concluded his college experience by exuding the same confidence, poise and determination that made him the best football scholar-athlete in nation in December as the 30th recipient of the Campbell Trophy®," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "As we celebrate the 150th anniversary of college football, Justin stands as the definition of a hardworking and humble champion for future generations to emulate. We want to congratulate him and the entire Oregon team on their victory."
During the first break in the game, the 6-foot-6 Herbert, was featured in a tribute by Mazda, the presenting sponsor of the Campbell Trophy®, as part of their Power of Potential Platform.
"We believe that one can be the spark that ignites passion, inspiration and the drive in others," said Dino Bernacchi, the CMO Mazda of North America, in the tribute as he announced Herbert as the 30th recipient of the award at the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York City this past December.
As part of a partnership between the NFF and the College Football Playoff (CFP), Herbert will now travel to New Orleans, Louisiana, for the Jan. 13 CFP National Championship between No. 1 LSU (14-0) and No. 3 Clemson (14-0) where he will be honored as the Campbell Trophy® recipient in front of the sellout crowd at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome during the break between the first and second quarters.
Herbert led the Ducks to the Pac-12 title this season and the team's first Rose Bowl appearance since 2015. Herbert finishes his tenure in Eugene as the owner of school records for career completions and career attempts, and he is one of just two Oregon quarterbacks to surpass 10,000 career passing yards. Herbert led the Ducks to three consecutive bowl berths, including a win over Michigan State in the 2018 Redbox Bowl and yesterday's Rose Bowl victory. 

The back-to-back Academic All-American of the Year and 2019 Pac-12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year boasts a 4.01 GPA in general science.

The Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda ranks as one of college football's most sought after and competitive awards, recognizing an individual as the absolute best in the country for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership. The 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy, which is prominently displayed at its official home inside the New York Athletic Club, comes with a $25,000 postgraduate scholarship.
The centerpiece to the NFF's scholar-athlete program, the William V. Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda was first awarded in 1990. It is named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, the former chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal.
Past Recipients of The William V. Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda
  • Chris Howard (Air Force, 1990 - University President)
  • Brad Culpepper (Florida, 1991 - Attorney)
  • Jim Hansen (Colorado, 1992 - Climatologist)
  • Thomas Burns (Virginia, 1993 - Engineering Executive)
  • Robert Zatechka (Nebraska, 1994 - Physician)
  • Bobby Hoying (Ohio State, 1995 - Real Estate Executive)
  • Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996 - Non-Profit Executive Director)
  • Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997 - TV Personality & Philanthropist)
  • Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1998 - Insurance Executive & TV Broadcaster)
  • Chad Pennington (Marshall, 1999 - Non-Profit President & High School Football Coach)
  • Kyle Vanden Bosch (Nebraska, 2000 - Retired NFL Player)
  • Joaquin Gonzalez (Miami [FL], 2001 - Corporate Executive)
  • Brandon Roberts (Washington University in St. Louis [MO], 2002 - Physician)
  • Craig Krenzel (Ohio State, 2003 - Insurance Executive)
  • Michael Munoz (Tennessee, 2004 - Football Executive)
  • Rudy Niswanger (LSU, 2005 - Corporate Executive)
  • Brian Leonard (Rutgers, 2006 - Philanthropist)
  • Dallas Griffin (Texas, 2007 - Corporate Executive)
  • Alex Mack (California, 2008 - NFL Player)
  • Tim Tebow (Florida, 2009 - Non-Profit Chairman, TV Broadcaster & Baseball Player)
  • Sam Acho (Texas, 2010 - NFL Player & Humanitarian)
  • Andrew Rodriguez (Army West Point, 2011 - U.S. Army Captain)
  • Barrett Jones (Alabama, 2012 - Financial Advisor & Broadcaster)
  • John Urschel (Penn State, 2013 - Ph.D. Candidate, Speaker & Author)
  • David Helton (Duke, 2014 - Finance & Business Operations)
  • Ty Darlington (Oklahoma, 2015 - College Football Assistant Coach)
  • Zach Terrell (Western Michigan, 2016 - Executive Development Associate)
  • Micah Kiser (Virginia, 2017 - NFL Player)
  • Christian Wilkins (Clemson, 2018 - NFL Player)