David, father Bill and Billy Shepherd were stars at Carmel, in the state and beyond.
David, father Bill and Billy Shepherd were stars at Carmel, in the state and beyond.
With the cancellation of the 2020 Indiana-Kentucky Girls and Boys Senior All-Stars series, it seems like a fitting time to reminisce about the history of the annual mid-summer classic as it pertains to Hamilton County student-athletes and coaches.
Hamilton County’s best have left their marks on the Indiana Boys and Girls Basketball All-Star teams down through the years.
Let’s start with a memory jogger . . . Do you remember? Some of the older sports buffs likely will.
What was the first Hamilton County school to have three players named Indiana Boys All-Stars? They were big-name players from a small school: Sheridan’s Jim Mace (1940), Harry Hobbs (1950) and Joe Hobbs (1954).
Joe Hobbs played on the same all-star team with Milan’s Bobby Plump, the hero, of course, of the Milan Miracle.
What was the first Hamilton County school to have three females named Indiana All-Stars? That would be Noblesville: Krissi Davis (1987), Courtney Cox (1989) and Jana Thompson (1990).
Can you name the Hamilton County girls to rank among top all-star scorers since 1976? Hamilton Southeastern’s Kahla Roudebush and Carmel’s Amy Dilk each scored 25 points in a single game in 2005 and 2018, respectively. Roundebush also totaled 44 points for two games, tying her for 12th place on the all-time list. In 1989, Courtney Cox totaled 35 points in two games.
Now, moving on to the county’s five boys Mr. Basketball recipients:
The first ones so honored were Carmel High School brothers Billy (1968) and David (1970) Shepherd.
They were followed by Noblesville’s Tom Coverdale (1998), Hamilton Southeastern’s Gary Harris (2012) and Zak Irvin (2013), who just happened to be Indiana’s only back-to-back winners of the coveted award. The Mr. Basketball award was first award was in 1939 to Franklin’s George Crowe.
In addition to entering the Hamilton County Hall of Fame, the Shepherds were Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame inductees, as was their father and former Carmel basketball coach Bill Shepherd. He was a member of the Indiana All-Stars from Hope High School in1945. Billy’s oldest son Scott was an Indiana All-Star for Carmel in 1992.
So, when you look back, you can see how The Shepherds are certainly the First Family of Hamilton County basketball and I would think you could safely say Indiana’s No.1 basketball family.
Two Hamilton County girls have won Miss Basketball titles:
In 2018, Carmel’s Amy Dilk became the first Indiana Miss Basketball to represent Hamilton County. She’s now a standout for the University of Michigan women’s basketball team.
And last Friday, Hamilton Southeastern’s Sydney Parrish was crowned the 2020 Indiana Miss Basketball. Parrish was also the Indiana MaxPreps Player of the Year and finished her illustrious high school career as the Hamilton County career female scoring leader with 1,925 points. She will continue her basketball career at the University of Oregon.

1968: Mr. Basketball, Billy Shepherd — Carmel; 1970: Mr. Basketball, David Shepherd — Carmel; 1998: Mr. Basketball, Tom Coverdale — Noblesville; 2012: Gary Harris, Mr. Basketball — Hamilton SE; 2013: Zak Irvin, Mr. Basketball — Hamilton SE; 2018: Amy Dilk, Miss Basketball — Carmel; 2020: Sydney Parrish, Miss Basketball — Hamilton Southeastern.

1940: Jim Mace — Sheridan; 1950: Harry Hobbs — Sheridan; 1954: Joe Hobbs — Sheridan; 1984: Scott Haffner — Noblesville; 1992: Scott Shepherd — Carmel; 2004: Joe Reitz — Hamilton Southeastern; 2008: Daniel Moore — Carmel; 2011: Austin Etherington; 2013: Michael Volovic — Carmel; 2014: Zach McRoberts — Carmel; 2015: Ryan Cline — Carmel; 2015: Matt Holba — Guerin Catholic; 2017: Zach Gunn — Hamilton Southeastern; 2019: John Michael Mulloy — Carmel; 2020: Mabor Majak — Hamilton Southeastern.
1987: Krissi Davis — Noblesville; 1989: Courtney Cox — Noblesville; 1990: Jana Thompson — Noblesville; 1992: Lori Sparling — Carmel; 1995: Lisa Williams — Carmel; 2002: Cindi Merrill — Noblesville; 2003: Sarah VanMetre — Noblesville; 2005: Kahla Roudebush — Hamilton Southeastern; 2006: Melanie Thornton —Carmel; 2008: Danielle Havel — Carmel; 2009: Chrissy Steffen — Carmel; 2011: Jessica Carr — Hamilton Heights; 2011: Torrie Thornton — Carmel; 2013: Taya Reimer — Hamilton Southeastern; 2013: Dakota Weatherford — Hamilton Heights; 2014: Alex Hochstedler — Fishers; 2014: Kayla Brown — Westfield; 2018: Emily Kiser — Noblesville; 2018: Tomi Taiwo — Carmel; 2019: Amaya Hamilton — Hamilton Southeastern.

1978: Eric Clark — Carmel; 2000: David McCullough — Noblesville; 2013: Scott Heady — Carmel; 2020: Ryan Osborn — Carmel.
1977: Sharon Eskew — Carmel; 1993: Judi Warren — Carmel. (Note: Warren, a long-time teacher and former girls basketball coach at Carmel HS, played at Warsaw and was the state’s first Miss Basketball (1976). She led the Lady Greyhounds to a state finals runner-up finish in 1995. She’s also a board member of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame).

Mark Morrow is the Times sports editor and a Hall of Fame Indiana sportswriter. You can follow him in The Times, and on Twitter at mmediamarko12. He can be reached at mediamarko5@gmail.com or by calling (317) 460-8018.